top of page

Day 2. Reality vs Espectations

- The "inspectors" will come to see how you implement the project, do you have any problem? - Told me my director - They can come to my class, of course! - I told to him. The class had started when they came to see me and my students. They (the students) were on the floor doing something strange while there were a song playing. The tables and the chairs were moved away and the center of the class was empty and the teacher was standing on a chair saying: One minute left! I don't know if they (Charo and Inma) were specting that, I guess it was shocking at the beginning but that's what I do in an AICLE lesson!

Students puting in order the lyrics of the Earth song.

Espectations vs reality: You are working in a fantastic and amaising project, you prepare all the stuff, plastified materials, teaching materials, dossiers for the students... you buy markers, sticky tape, blue-tack... And also you do a good planification: "I think this will take one session. Ok, this is more important, so I think it will take two or three sessions...".

But the when you have plans, the students make it different ALWAYS. And thats how we learn! So I've been doing my PBL GEP project two days with the five groups and I have modified it five times too.

With this materials... :

...they had to do this:

TASK 0: All the class did a Mega mural (a) working in group and (b) using English to get agreements and decide things.

I didn't realize that the mega mural could be so difficult for them. But the reality was that they are not able to do it without help, so I add some modifications:

1- I let them to do it in two days (we have talked about the difficulties and the planning problems of the group at the beginning of the second session so they can think what was wrong)

2- I give them 10 seconds of SPOILER time (a table with the solution so they can see how it has to be) two time.

3- I let them to speak in catalan (I didn't told them that, but I don't assess that aspect). In this part is more important to work in group and to make a good mural, There will be more time to speak in English. It was really a problem becouse many students get collapsed with that, and when they can speak in mother tonge they collaborate more in a big group task.

4- I want them to be creative so I asked them to do the mega mural in the windows! It has been fun!

Entradas destacadas
Entradas recientes
Archivo
Buscar por tags
Síguenos
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page